The Five Senses by K J Rollinson

Did you know that some neurologists say there are more than 5?

MARSocial Author Business Enhancement Dragon Post


Most of us are taught we have five senses – sight, hearing, taste, touch and smell. But many neurologists say there are nine and some list as many as twenty-one. The traditional five senses model is credited to Aristotle.

As a writer, five senses is good enough for me, although I may mention, unknowingly, other senses such as perception or the ability to remember. But if you don’t already mention senses in your writing, I recommend that your book(s) should include some of the traditional five senses. For instance, in my third book of the Fallyn trilogy, ‘Fallyn and the Sea Dragons’, when the four friends go on holiday to Ireland, Carla says, “Mm, this Irish bacon tastes so good, and the coffee is delicious.” Or you can be more subtle, like in a short story of mine when I mentioned touch, taste and smell in one go – ‘she…

View original post 328 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s