HOW DO YOU WRITE YOUR BOOK? by K J ROLLINSON

MARSocial Author Business Enhancement Dragon Post

scan0002

I have just started an on-line writing course. I have written six books and I have found I’ve got things all wrong!

The course stresses you should carefully go through the planning stage and know in advance the outline of your book, eg the major twists and turns of the plot and all the characters. It pooh-poohs the author who says the characters take over. Er…Hmm!! I’m guilty of this.

Okay, I probably know the beginning and the end of the plot and know some of the plots which happen in the middle, but rather than writing a detailed synopsis beforehand, I prefer to do a sort of a pitch. The course explains a pitch as getting to the heart of the book in a few words as possible. They give an example of a pitch and I quote:

Alice in Wonderland

‘Alice falls asleep one lazy summer’s day. She…

View original post 332 more words

Leave a Reply

