THE HISTORY OF THE AGE OF THE EARTH BY K J ROLLINSON

MARSocial Author Business Enhancement Dragon Post

scan0002

I picked up a book bargain the other day, ‘A Short History of Nearly Everything’, by Bill Bryson.
I have enjoyed some of his other books, so without going through it, I thought I would enjoy this one too. Maybe, I wouldn’t have bought it if I had flicked through it, as it contained subjects that wouldn’t necessarily attract me – astronomy, geology, to name a few, in fact every ‘ology’ you could name. But because of Bryson’s fantastic ‘layman’ explanations, I find I am enjoying the book immensely.

Many Christians believe, and still believe, what the bible says that the Earth is 6,000 years old. Indeed, the controversy about the age of the Earth was heightened by the moral dilemma concerning extinction. Would God have deliberately had wiped out creatures? Clearly there was more than Noah’s flood to blame for the extinctions.

By the late eighteenth century, scientists knew…

View original post 779 more words

Leave a Reply

