The Darkness in My Fiction

MARSocial Author Business Enhancement Horror Post

In almost every review and any feedback my fiction receives, there is the reference to darkness. Yes, it’s fair–more than. Sometimes I wonder where that darkness comes from.

I said (and say) characters live in my head. Even if I’m not writing about them or thinking about them consciously, I know they’re there, lurking.

Even as a child I saw the world had horror in it. I read some books when I was probably too young to have read them. My mother was on the lookout for books with sexual themes. She wasn’t aware I was reading other sorts of books like Exodus and 1984. I read those when I was 11 and 12. Not good.

But I also read Nancy Drew and I loved it, but between Nancy Drew solving mysteries and my second guessing her, there was something else happening. I was seeing life beyond the comfort of…

View original post 304 more words

Leave a Reply

