Figuratively speaking, I’ve done an anaphora. Yes,yes,yes, I have! By K J Rollinson

MARSocial Author Business Enhancement Dragon Post

scan0006

I recently read an interesting article in ‘The Writing Magazine’ (I have mentioned this magazine before). It explained that figures of speech are an important part of a writer’s tool kit. I am sure you know what a simile, metaphor, alliteration and assonance is, but I didn’t know the others the article mentioned.

It mentioned a zeugma. The official definition of a zeugma is confusing so I won’t bother to explain it here. I’ll just quote some examples.

I lost my bet and my patience.
He caught his breath and a bad cold.
I think I have done a zeugma in my new novel ‘Where Lies My Heart’.

…she said with wide eyes and a matching smile.

I’ve definitely done an anaphora in the book!

An anaphora is a stylistic device that relies on the repetition of the same word or group of words at the beginning of each sentence…

View original post 199 more words

Leave a Reply

